Konawaena Grad Yamaguchi Named to All-WCC Baseball List

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

A breakout sophomore season has landed Konawaena graduate Kolten Yamaguchi on the All-West Coast Conference Baseball Team for the 2013 season.

Yamaguchi, a sophomore for the Pepperdine Waves, led his team with a .309 batting average. In the 33 games he played, he hit four home runs, drove in 18 runs, and stole four bases. He committed only one error all season.West Coast Conference Logo

While he didn’t play in every game, the Kona native saw increased playing time from his freshman season. In 2012, Yamaguchi batted .310 in only 14 games with three runs batted in. His second collegiate season was highlighted by a two-homer, three RBI game against USC on the road. The Waves won that game 9-4.

Pepperdine finished the 2013 season with a 27-24 record. Their conference mark of 13-11 left them in fifth place, two games behind San Francisco. That difference kept Pepperdine out of the West Coast Conference Tournament and will likely leave them out of the NCAA regional picture.

2013 All-Conference Baseball Team

Abe Bobb (RHP), San Francisco


Jaycob Brugman (OF), Brigham Young

Kris Bryant (3B), San Diego

PJ Conlon (LHP), San Diego

Austin Davidson (3B), Pepperdine

Collin Ferguson (1B), Saint Mary’s


Brian Frattali (1B), Portland

Marco Gonzales (LHP/1B), Gonzaga

Aaron Griffin (RHP), Loyola Marymount

Jacob Hannemann (OF), Brigham Young

Haden Hinkle (RHP), San Francisco


Connor Joe (IF), San Diego

Brenden Kalfus (RF), Saint Mary’s

Adam Law (3B), Brigham Young

Cory LeBrun (OF), Gonzaga

Jeff Melby (3B), Portland

Jordan Mills (LHP), Saint Mary`s

Tyler Olson (LHP), Saint Mary’s

Colton Plaia (C), Loyola Marymound

AJ Robinson (OF), San Diego

Zachary Turner (1B/DH), San Francisco

Colin Welmon (RHP), Loyola Marymount

Brock Whitney (1B), Brigham Young

Kolten Yamaguchi (C), Pepperdine

Bradley Zimmer (OF), San Francisco

Honorable Mention

Ricky Boas, Saint Mary’s

Alex Bonczyk, Gonzaga

Aaron Brown, Pepperdine

Adam Cimber, San Francisco

David Edwards, Loyola Marymount

Scott Frazier, Pepperdine

Zac Fujimoto, Loyola Marymount

Austin Green, San Diego

Ben Grubb, Portland

Drew Hacker, Pepperdine

Cody Lenahan, Portland

Ranny Lowe, Pepperdine

Justin Maffei, San Francisco

Jason Mahood, San Francisco

Cullen Mahoney, Loyola Marymount

Patrick McGrath, Loyola Marymount

Markus Melgosa, Saint Mary’s

Sam Meyer, Pepperdine

Matt Milke, Brigham Young

Corey Miller, Pepperdine

Hayden Nielsen, Brigham Young

Desmond Poulson, Brigham Young

Arturo Reyes, Gonzaga

Michael Swanner, Pepperdine

Caleb Wood, Gonzaga

All-Freshman Team

PJ Conlon (LHP), San Diego

Thomas Cox (LHP), San Francisco

Jacob Hannemann (OF), Brigham Young

Hayden Nielsen (IF), Brigham Young

Ryan Matranga (C), San Francisco

Jackson McClelland (RHP), Pepperdine

Hutton Moyer (IF), Pepperdine

Billy Sahlinger (RHP), Portland

Anthony Villa (3B), Saint Mary’s

Caleb Wood (OF), Gonzaga

Co-Players of the Year – Kris Bryant (San Diego) and Marco Gonzales (Gonzaga)

Pitcher of the Year – Tyler Olson (Gonzaga)

Defensive Player of the Year – Colton Plaia (Loyola Marymount)

Freshman of the Year – Jacob Hannemann (Brigham Young)

Coach of the Year – Mark Machtolf (Gonzaga)

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments