Hilo’s Kell, Kealakehe’s Jones Share BIIF DI Offensive POTY Honors

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

For the first time in several years, the race for the Big Island Interscholastic Federation’s Division I championship was competitive throughout the season.

Voting for all-league honors was just as tight. Coaches from around the island couldn’t settle on one outstanding offensive player, so they split Offensive Player of the Year honors between Hilo High School’s Drew Kell and Kealakehe High School’s Lennox Jones.

Jones was the Waveriders’ big play machine, racking up 1,147 rushing yards and 12 rushing touchdowns on the season. He also led the team with 450 receiving yards and caught four touchdown passes. On top of all of that, he completed a touchdown pass and made 10-of-14 extra point attempts.

The senior slotback was one of 10 Waveriders to make the All-BIIF first team. He was the lone skill position player to make the offensive squad, however, as he was joined by fellow offensive linemen Feke Sopoaga-Kioa, Tavita “Tui” Eli, and Prince Samoa.

Meanwhile, Hilo’s Kell started the season with an injured finger, forcing him to miss the first several non-league games. The division’s only true pocket passer quickly piled up numbers against opposing defenses. The junior threw for 1,591 yards with 12 touchdowns and nine interceptions. He was also a running threat as he dashed for 334 yards and six touchdowns.

Kell’s coach, David Baldwin, was the unanimous choice for the league’s Division I Coach of the Year. The first year head coach transformed the Hilo Vikings from a winless squad in 2011 to a 7-3 overall record. The Vikings finished second in league play with a 5-3 mark.


On the other side of the ball, Kealakehe’s Manase Hungalu was named the Division I Defensive Player of the Year. The senior finished second on his team with 86 tackles. He also collected two sacks, two interceptions, and blocked a pair of field goal attempts.

All-league honors were announced Wednesday night by BIIF football coordinator Kalei Namohala, who serves as Ka`u High School’s athletic director.

All-BIIF First Team

Quarterback: Drew Kell (Hilo)

Running Backs: Johnny Vance (Kea`au), Devin Preston (Waiakea)


Receivers: Dayton Kiko (Waiakea), Donovan Kelley (Hilo), Lennox Jones (Kealakehe), Jacob Genegabus (Hilo), Talon Ota (Kea`au), Jonathan Segovia (Kea`au)

Offensive Line: Jason Tara-Antone (Hilo), Feke Sopoaga-Kioa (Kealakehe), Alika Matias (Waiakea), John Funaki (Hilo), Tavita “Tui” Eli (Kealakehe), Prince Samoa (Kealakehe)

Defensive Line: Travis Lualemaga (Kealakehe), Makana Josue-Ma`a (Hilo), Alan Sekona (Waiakea), Makana Fraser (Kea`au), Isi Holani (Hilo), Jacob “Loto” Mareko (Kealakehe)

Linebackers: Sione Holika (Hilo), Manase Hungalu (Kealakehe), Taz Preston (Waiakea)

Defensive Backs: Kamu Patnaude (Hilo), Talon Ota (Kea`au), Jonathan Segovia (Kea`au), Giuseppe Zapatoliva (Kealakehe), Kainoa Kipapa (Kealakehe), Keoni Schweitzer (Kealakehe)


Kicker: Keola Miller (Hilo)

Punter: Matthew Shimabukuro (Kea`au)

All-BIIF Honorable Mention

Quarterbacks: Jordan Cristobal (Kealakehe), Kean Wong (Waiakea)

Running Backs: Lennox Jones (Kealakehe), Donovan Kelley (Hilo), David Fangupo (Kealakehe), Raskassa Johnson (Kea`au)

Receivers: Vincent Paogofie (Kealakehe), Ricky Kuntemeyer (Waiakea), Giuseppe Zapatoliva (Kealakehe)

Offensive Line: Dustin Liva (Kea`au), Roger Bryant (Kea`au), Atin Saburo (Hilo), Makana Fraser (Kea`au), Giovanni Chanes-Rodrigues (Kealakehe), Zack Yamamoto (Waiakea), Matt Kent (Kea`au), Siosaia Kalavi (Kealakehe)

Defensive Line: Adam Ventura (Kea`au), Winton Palik (Kealakehe), Maake Teutau (Kealakehe), Zephaniah Pavao (Kea`au), Manawalea Awa`a (Kea`au), Scott Santiago (Waiakea), Matt Kent (Kea`au), Keanu Gonzalez (Kealakehe)

Linebackers: Kyler O’Halloran (Kealakehe), Na`ali`i Kanakaole-Wong (Kea`au), Matthew Winters (Kea`au), T`Shaquille Pe`a (Hilo)

Defensive Backs: Tristin Haskell (Kea`au), Jordan Cristobal (Kealakehe), Dayton Kiko (Waiakea)

Kickers: Talon Ota (Kea`au), Keoni Yates (Kealakehe)

Punter: Keoni Yates (Kealakehe)

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Drew Kell (Hilo), Lennox Jones (Kealakehe)

Defensive Player of the Year: Manase Hungalu (Kealakehe)

Coach of the Year: David Baldwin (Hilo)

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments