Punahou Outlasts KS-Hawaii to Win 30th Title

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Before the first serve at the Neal Blaisdell Center in Honolulu, volleyball fans knew that history would be made in the New City Nissan / Hawaii High School Athletic Association Division I Volleyball Championship.

After the first set, it appeared that history would be made by the newcomer, third-seeded Kamehameha-Hawaii, who had never played in the state title game until Saturday. The favorite of the non-establishment, the Warriors held a one-set advantage after the first and third sets.

In the end, the Buffanblu of Punahou found a way, forcing a fifth set, and winning it, to secure their 30th state championship. The final set scores were 23-25, 25-18, 23-25, 25-11, 15-13.

The turning point in the match came in the third set, when Warriors setter Daniel Aina Jr. appeared to injure his ankle late in the set. While the Warriors still won the set, Aina saw limited playing time since that injury, and gave the slight edge to Punahou, who won the fourth set easily. Aina finished with 3 kills, 3 digs, and a block.

Both teams went back and forth in the final set, with the score evened at 13 late in the set when Evan Enriques willed his team back in it with a couple of solid points. But, Punahou finished off Kamehameha-Hawaii by scoring the final two points in the match.

Enriques finished off a stellar tournament by recording 42 kills in the championship match, capping his tournament kill tally at 111. Evan took home the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player award.


Punahou, who has a standout offensive player of their own in Tui Tuileta, outlasted the Big Island Interscholastic Federation champions with a total team effort. Tuileta led the Buffanblu with 20 kills to compliment his 10 digs. Nicholas Andrews had 16 kills and 6 blocks, and Sean Gruebner added 15 kills and 9 blocks.

Division I All-Tournament Team

Sean Gruebner, OH, Punahou

Tui Tuileta, OH, Punahou

Nicholas Andrews, MB, Punahou


Nainoa Frank, OH, Kalaheo

Kupono Fey, OH, Punahou

Daniel Aina Jr., S, Kamehameha-Hawaii

Kolby Kanerake, L, Moanalua

Most Outstanding Player


Evan Enriques, OH, Kamehameha-Hawaii

Division II All-Tournament Team

Chad Barretta, OH, Hawaii Baptist

Keanu Yamamoto, OH, Hawaii Preparatory Academy

Shane Jacob, MB, Seabury Hall

Tyler Van Kirk, MB, Hawaii Preparatory Academy

Rocky DeLyon, OH, Seabury Hall

BJ Hosaka, S, Hawaii Baptist

Kalei Hosaka, L, Hawaii Baptist

Most Outstanding Player

Michael Fisher, OH, Hawaii Baptist

Division I tournament scores (featuring BIIF teams)

Championship: Punahou def. Kamehameha-Hawaii 23-25, 25-18, 23-25, 25-11, 15-13

Fifth place: Waiakea def. Kamehameha-Kapalama 16-25, 25-18, 29-27

Division II tournament scores featuring BIIF teams)

Third place: Hawaii Preparatory Academy def. McKinley 25-13, 25-14, 25-23

Fifth Place: Waimea def. Kohala 25-21, 25-18, 17-25, 5-5


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments