Waiakea Alum Earns All-Big West Second Team Award

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

It has been a year of adjustment for Quintin Torres-Costa.

An impressive high school career at Waiakea High School led to a pair of starts in his freshman season at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa. His 2013 season was cut short, though, due to an injury that required Tommy John Surgery.

Torres-Costa, known by some as “Q,” has learned to get used to the bullpen. Three starts early this season didn’t go the way UH planned, so the redshirt-sophomore returned to the ‘pen, where he pitched 16 of his 17 appearances in the 2014 campaign.

Eight saves in 16 relief appearances this season was enough to place Torres-Costa on the All-Big West Baseball Second Team, as voted by the league’s coaches.

In 19 total appearances, Torres-Costa compiled a 1-3 record with a 4.00 earned run average in 36 innings pitched. The left-handed flame thrower picked up 49 strikeouts, which was tops among all relievers on the team.

Hawai’i, under head coach Mike Trapasso, finished the 2015 season with a 21-32 overall record and 12-12 Big West mark. The Rainbow Warriors ended the season on a six-game losing streak.


2015 Big West All-Conference Team

First Team

Catcher – Isaak Silva (UC Davis)

First Base – Nick Lynch (UC Davis)

Second Base – Mark Mathias (Cal Poly)


Third Base – Jerrod Bravo (Cal State Fullerton)

Shortstop – Mikey Duarte (UC Irvine), Peter Van Gansen (Cal Poly)

Designated Hitter – David Olmedo-Barrera (Cal State Fullerton)

Utility – Robby Nesovic (UC Santa Barbara), Josh Vargas (Cal State Fullerton)

Outfield – Zack Zehner (Cal Poly), Keston Hiura (UC Irvine), Cameron Newell (UC Santa Barbara)


Starting Pitcher – Tyler Brashears (Hawai’i), Thomas Eshelman (Cal State Fullerton), Chris Mathewson (Long Beach State), Dillon Tate (UC Santa Barbara),

Relief Pitcher – Miles Chambers (Cal State Fullerton), Domenic Mazza (UC Santa Barbara)

Closing Pitcher – Tyler Peitzmeier (Cal State Fullerton)

Second Team

Catcher – Jerry McClanahan (UC Irvine)

First Base – Mitchell Holland (UC Irvine)

Second Base – Tino Lipson (UC Davis)

Third Base – Peter Maris (UC Santa Barbara)

Shortstop – Garrett Hampson (Long Beach State)

Designated Hitter – Brock Lundquist (Long Beach State)

Outfield – Jordan Ellis (Cal Poly), Tyler Stieb (Cal State Fullerton), Vince Fernandez (UC Riverside)

Starting Pitcher – Shane Bieber (UC Santa Barbara), Casey Bloomquist (Cal Poly), Kyle Friedrichs (Long Beach State), Justin Jacome (UC Santa Barbara)

Relief Pitcher – Spencer Henderson (UC Davis), Zach Stone (UC Davis)

Closing Pitcher – Quintin Torres-Costa (Hawai’i)

Honorable Mention

Catcher – Campbell Wear (UC Santa Barbara)

First Base – Luke Rasmussen (Long Beach State)

Second Base – Taylor Bryant (Cal State Fullerton)

Third Base – Tommy Pluschkell (Cal Poly)

Shortstop – Jacob Sheldon-Collins (Hawai’i)

Designated Hitter – Alex Sawelson (Hawai’i)

Utility – Joe Chavez (UC Riverside), Will Colantano (CSUN)

Outfield – Austin March (UC Davis), John Williams (UC Davis), Kris Paulino (UC Irvine), Andrew Calica (UC Santa Barbara), Luke Swenson (UC Santa Barbara)

Starting Pitcher – John Gavin (Cal State Fullerton)

Relief Pitcher – Angel Rodriguez (CSUN), Andrew Jones (Hawai’i)

Closing Pitcher – Connor O’Neill (CSUN)


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments