37th Annual Salute to the Graduates

Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Big Island Now would like to congratulate the Class of 2020!

The 37th Annual Salute to the Graduates is proudly presented by Pacific Media Group and its subsidiaries — KBIG-FM, The Beat, Kapa Hawaiian FM and Big Island Now, as well as Allstate Agent Kris Speegle.

Mahalo to our sponsors.

Valedictorian Sponsor: Allstate Kris Speegle (Agency Owner)

Cum Laude Sponsor: KTA Super Stores

Honor Roll Sponsors:

  • Automotive Supply Center
  • Big Island Candies
  • Big Island Federal Credit Union
  • HFS Federal Credit Union
  • Hawai‘i Community College
  • Hawai‘i Community Federal Credit Union
  • Pacific Waste
  • University of Hawai‘i at Hilo

It’s been one of the strangest, most difficult years in recent memory, and all graduates should be incredibly proud of what they’ve accomplished amid unprecedented conditions!


Pacific Media Group and its subsidiaries across the Big Island would like to specifically highlight the following students in the Class of 2020 for their achievements:

Hilo High School

Athletics: Leona Toledo

Information Technology: Tyler Ragasa

Leadership: Jennifer Kamimura

Literary or Performing Arts: Cora Pelkey

Scholastics: Sonja Giardina

Honoka‘a High

Athletics: Chandon-Mac Pacheco

Information Technology: Hannah Walker

Leadership: Sydni Abarcar

Literary or Performing Arts: Kaylynn Iona

Scholastics: Gretchen Silen

Kamehameha High

Information Technology: Jake Nishimoto

Literary or Performing Arts: Kyra Gomes

Scholastics: Travis Chai Andrade

Ka‘ū High

Athletics: Luke Watson

Information Technology: Mhay Rose Baradi

Leadership: Ka‘ohinani Grace

Scholastics: Maliah Ababa

Kea‘au High

Athletics: Leilani Stone

Information Technology: David Messer

Leadership: Aldwin Badua

Literary or Performing Arts: Roberto “RJ” Ramos Jr.

Scholastics: Catherine Chow

Kohala High School

Athletics: Zak Javillonar

Information Technology: Deighton Bell

Leadership: Jessa May Campollo

Literary or Performing Arts: Hokani Maria

Scholastics: Nicholas Quinn


Athletics: Caiyle Kaupu

Information Technology: Tanner Nakamoto

Leadership: Breeze Chinnen

Literary or Performing Arts: Harli Meech

Scholastics: Shayla Sayphone


Information Technology: Dannyel Jimenez

Leadership: Joziah Chelminiak

Literary or Performing Arts: Justice Aoki

Scholastics: Irish Marzan

Mauka Lani Christian Academy 

Athletics: Timothy Catanzaro

Literary or Performing Arts: Josiah Deluz

Pāhoa High

Leadership: Bailey-Ann Lee

Scholastics: Xavier Tablit

Parker High

Literary or Performing Arts: Kathryn Carey

Scholastics: Sophia “Isyes” Moorehead

St. Joseph High

Athletics: Nanami Taono

Literary or Performing Arts: Consuela Rivera

Waiakea High School

Athletics: Samantha Yamamoto

Information Technology: Masayuki Ohashi

Leadership: Benjamin Vento

Literary or Performing Arts: Titongi Taomia

Scholastics: Haruna Tomono


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments