Carvalho, Garson-Shumway Earn Hilo Athletic Honors

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Jalen Carvalho and Carmen Garson-Shumway were named the KTA Super Stores/Hilo High School Most Outstanding Athletes for the 2013-2014 athletic year.

The awards were announced Monday during the school’s annual athletic awards assembly, held at the Hilo High School pool.

Carvalho, who will attend Oregon Institute of Technology to play basketball and baseball, also earned the Most Outstanding Player award in boys basketball, handed out by coach Chuck Vallero, and the Most Inspirational Player award in baseball, given by coach Tony DeSa.

Garson-Shumway, a four year medalist in track and field, also earned the Most

Hilo's Carmen Garson-Shumway runs during a BIIF event at Kea`au High School. Photo credit: Jared Fujisaki.

Hilo’s Carmen Garson-Shumway runs during a BIIF event at Kea`au High School. Photo credit: Jared Fujisaki.

Outstanding Athlete awards in track and field and cross country, both coached by Bill McMahon.

McMahon, who is retiring from teaching at the school but will remain as coach of both teams, was given the Most Outstanding Coach award. Jo Ann Nishimoto, Special Olympics coach and Project Unify leader at the school, was named the Most Inspirational Coach.


Big Island Candies presented the Most Inspirational Athlete awards for both male and female athletes. Cody Hamane won the male award, adding to his individual honors in golf and swimming. Shaylyn Arakaki received the female honor. She also won individual inspirational awards in judo and wrestling.

Longtime Hilo High School volunteer Kenneth Kameoka was given the Distinguished Alumni Award for his years of volunteer service during sporting events. Kameoka graduated from Hilo High in 1953.

Hilo High School Athletic Awards

Girls bowling – Caitlyn Price (Most Inspirational), Kayla Okimoto (Most Outstanding)

Boys bowling – Jordan Pajo (Most Inspirational), Kendrcik Dacayanan (Most Outstanding)


Girls air riflery – Liza Saludares (Most Outstanding)

Boys air riflery – Alex Rapoza (Most Inspirational), Wyatt Wilson (Most Outstanding)

Cheerleading – Darian Takase (Most Inspirational), Jordyn Perreira (Most Outstanding)

Girls cross country – Mehana Sabado Halpern (Most Inspirational), Carmen Garson-Shumway (Most Outstanding)

Boys cross country – River Brown (Most Inspirational), Stephen Hunter (Most Outstanding)


Girls volleyball – Evalani Toledo (Most Inspirational), Angel Alameda (Most Outstanding)

Football – Michael Williams (Most Inspirational), Tanikeni “Isi” Holani (Most Outstanding)

Girls canoe paddling – Cherry Ann Aki (Most Outstanding)

Boys canoe paddling – Wyatt Dudoit (Most Outstanding)

Girls swimming – Alana Flaherty (Most Inspirational), Kaycie Kohashi (Most Outstanding)

Boys swimming – Cody Hamane (Most Inspirational), Ryan Bisel (Most Outstanding)

Girls soccer – Jordyn Breitbarth (Most Inspirational), Delcee Ramos (Most Outstanding)

Boys soccer – Kaululaau Ontai (Most Inspirational), Casey Nakatsu (Most Outstanding)

Girls wrestling – Shaylyn Arakaki (Most Inspirational), Kaylan Kanakanui (Most Outstanding)

Boys wrestling – Shaedon Quevedo (Most Inspirational), Thomas Kahooilihala (Most Outstanding)

Girls basketball – Kaily Harris (Most Inspirational), Aliyah Pana (Most Outstanding)

Boys basketball – EJ Narido (Most Inspirational), Jalen Carvalho (Most Outstanding)

Girls golf – Kelsy Nishimura (Most Inspirational), Amanda Loeffler (Most Outstanding)

Boys golf – Cody Hamane (Most Inspirational), Casey Nakatsu (Most Outstanding)

Girls tennis – Kelly Soares (Most Inspirational), Emily Soares (Most Outstanding)

Boys tennis – Ryne Sako (Most Inspirational), Noah Hong (Most Outstanding)

Girls track and field – Camille Martinez (Most Inspirational), Carmen Garson-Shumway (Most Outstanding)

Boys track and field – Caleb Statler Ellamar (Most Inspirational), Tanikeni “Isi” Holani (Most Outstanding)

Girls water polo – Alana Flaherty (Most Inspirational), Angela Krahner (Most Outstanding)

Boys volleyball – Kaululaau Ontai (Most Inspirational), AJ Matsumoto (Most Outstanding)

Girls judo – Shaylyn Arakaki (Most Inspirational), Kassandra Tongpalan (Most Outstanding)

Boys judo – Julian Tongpalan (Most Inspirational), Austin Nakamura (Most Outstanding)

Softball – Amber Vaughn (Most Inspirational), Aliesa Kaneshiro (Most Outstanding)

Baseball – Jalen Carvalho (Most Inspirational), Jodd Carter (Most Outstanding)

Girls Special Olympics – Jannefer Kaspar (Most Inspirational)

Boys Special Olympics – Jeremy Guyer (Most Outstanding)

Most Outstanding Coach – Bill McMahon (Cross Country, Track and Field)

Most Inspirational Coach – Jo Ann Nishimoto (Project Unify, Special Olympics)

Big Island Candies/Most Inspirational Male Athlete – Cody Hamane

Big Island Candies/Most Inspirational Female Athlete – Shaylyn Arakaki

KTA Super Stores/Most Outstanding Male Athlete – Jalen Carvalho

KTA Super Stores/Most Outstanding Female Athlete – Carmen Garson Shumway

Schools wishing to submit their athletic awards winners should e-mail results to [email protected].

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily or weekly
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Big Island Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments