Lifestyle

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Waimea Cherry Blossom Heritage Festival Goes Virtual

Waimea’s annual Cherry Blossom Heritage Festival has gone virtual in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Sunday, January 31, 2021

Hawaiʻi Island Natives to Star During the 75th Hula Bowl

Manaola Yap will star alongside Hula Halau Manaola during the 2021 Hula Bowl halftime show segment directed by Hilo native, Tracey Niimi.
Thursday, January 28, 2021

Donkey Mill Art Center’s Annual Auction Event Goes Virtual

For more than a decade the Donkey Mill Art Center’s annual art auction has been a premier event for art enthusiasts and collectors. The COVID-19 pandemic doesn’t change that.
Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Brewery Block Artisan Market Set For Early February

Organizers say the mission of the markets is to bring the community together to support small businesses, local artists, artisans, and musicians.
Wednesday, December 30, 2020

Matthew McConaughey Purchases Kukio Property

Matthew McConaughey has purchased a vacation home in a gated West Hawai‘i community. 
Saturday, December 26, 2020

Ka‘u Coffee Festival in Full Swing

Due to COVID-19, the festival has gone digital with free online events.
Friday, November 20, 2020

Henry Kapono to Honor Veterans With Free Virtual Concert

A Grammy-nominated artist and one of Hawai‘i’s most popular homegrown musicians will use his talents to honor veterans over the Thanksgiving Day weekend.
Monday, November 16, 2020

Kona Historical Society Continues ‘From the Collection’ Virtual Series

This program launched in September and highlights the Society’s archives, historic sites, and the people, places, and things in the Kona community.
Thursday, November 12, 2020

Waikoloa Beach Golf Course to Reopen

The Waikoloa Kings’ Course will remain closed for the time being.
Tuesday, November 10, 2020

ʻŌhiʻa Love Fest 2020 Going Virtual

Anyone, anywhere can celebrate Hawai‘i’s most abundant tree, ‘ōhi‘a lehua, during this week-long virtual event.
Monday, November 09, 2020

Big Island to Host First Virtual Christmas Light Parade

The first Big Island Virtual Christmas Light Parade is looking for participants.
Saturday, October 31, 2020

Fruitarian Restaurant Opens in Hilo

A fruitarian restaurant opened in Hilo a few days ago.
Wednesday, October 28, 2020

Big Island Halloween A to Z in 2020

Some events will be held over the Halloween weekend, most of which are sponsored by local businesses. 
Monday, October 26, 2020

HVNP Offers Family Fun Over Halloween Weekend

Fourth graders are eligible for a free park pass.
Monday, October 12, 2020

Queen of Makaha Coming to Aloha Theatre

The show is performed in a blend of Pidgin and English, and requires a strong understanding and appreciation of Hawaiian culture from all volunteers involved.
Wednesday, September 30, 2020

American Cancer Society to Host Comedy Fundraiser

Breast cancer is the most commonly diagnosed form of the disease throughout the Hawaiian Islands.
Wednesday, August 26, 2020

New Hawaiian Compilation Album Chronicles Aloha ‘Āina Legal Battles Through Song

“Mele Huliāmahi,” the free, virtual concert produced by Kanaeokana and Kāhuli Leo Leʻa, coincides with the release of the album, “Huliāmahi Volume 1.”
Friday, August 14, 2020

Aloha Theatre Announces Auditions for Two Shows

Audition videos are due at 9 am on Tuesday, Aug. 18.
Wednesday, August 12, 2020

L&L Hawaiian Barbecue Opens Pāhoa Location

L&L Hawaiian Barbecue has arrived in Pāhoa.
Thursday, August 06, 2020

Merriman’s Waimea to Reopen Friday

Merriman’s Waimea Pulehu & Wine Garden is reopening Friday and will be available every day from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Load More Articles