Lifestyle

Thursday, July 16, 2020

Hilo Community Players to Present ‘Othello’

This year marks the 43rd production the Players have celebrated with their Shakespeare in the Park tradition.
Monday, July 06, 2020

Local Historian to Speak About Leprosy’s Impact on Hawai‘i in KHS Virtual Talk Story

A virtual talk story through Kona Historical Society this week will talk about how an infectious disease spread throughout the islands in the early 1800s.
Sunday, July 05, 2020

Art Exhibition Opens Monday at Wailoa Center

Multiple solo art exhibitions will open at the Wailoa Center in Hilo on Monday.
Thursday, June 11, 2020

Lebanese Food Truck Opens in Hilo

Tabaraka will offer a variety of vegan, vegetarian and meat options.
Friday, May 29, 2020

Big Island Comedians Host Virtual Special Friday

Like so many parts of life and culture, standup comedy disappeared when coronavirus arrived in Hawai‘i, as venues closed their doors and performers receded into quarantine.
Tuesday, April 28, 2020

KHS to Begin Virtual Storytime Sessions Wednesday

Every Wednesday at 1 p.m., Kona Historical Society’s Programs Team will conduct a virtual storytime, lasting between five and 20 minutes.
Monday, April 06, 2020

Barefoot Gardener: Cherimoya

How to grow one of the world’s most delectable fruits.
Monday, March 30, 2020

Barefoot Gardener: Perfect Papayas

This easy-to-grow tree provides fresh fruit year-round.
Sunday, March 29, 2020

Poi Dog Deli Opens Keiki Food Fund

Hawai‘i families facing food insecurity amid the COVID-19 pandemic can find free keiki meals at Poi Dog Deli. 
Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Second Saturday Returns to Volcano

The once-a-month event, designed to showcase the variety of activities available in Volcano, is sponsored by Experience Volcano Hawai‘i and the Hawai‘i Tourism Authority.
Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Hawai‘i Artist Collaborative Reception And Silent/Live Auction

The four-day, invitation-only artist collaborative brings together artists representing 14 different media.
Tuesday, March 03, 2020

Super American Circus Returns to Hilo

Kama’aina Kids, a nonprofit, will be benefiting from every ticket sold.
Monday, March 02, 2020

Bug Off!: Part 3

Part three of a 3-part series.
Sunday, February 23, 2020

Barefoot Gardener: Bug Off! Part 2

Part two of a 3-part series.
Sunday, February 23, 2020

Kamehameha School’s Hula Drama Honors Keʻelikōlani

The 17th annual Kamehameha Schools Hawaiʻi Kula Kiʻekiʻe Hōʻike will break new ground as the schools first-ever hula drama, honoring Princess Ruth Keanolani Kanāhoahoa Keʻelikōlani.
Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Chocolate Festival Set For Lei Day

Presented by the Kona Cacao Association (KCA), festival proceeds annually benefit a variety of local nonprofits.
Monday, February 17, 2020

Smoked Salmon for a Heart-Healthy Valentine’s Day

What makes salmon a good choice?
Sunday, February 16, 2020

VAC Offers Mixed Media Encaustic Workshop

Encaustic is a mixture of beeswax, damar resin and pigment, which is applied to a solid absorbent surface.
Sunday, February 16, 2020

Barefoot Gardener, Part 1: Bug Off!

This is the first of a three-part series.
Sunday, February 09, 2020

Barefoot Gardener: Grow a Tea Garden

It’s easy and fun to have fresh, garden-grown herbal tea.
Load More Articles